Let us grade you.


                 Teachers grade us, so why not grade them? Of course we’re not going to grade them on how they gave us an F or because we don’t like the way they dress. We’d be grading teachers on the way they teach, the way they present themselves under pressure and how they handle a situation. This obviously wouldn’t be to degrade a teacher, teachers don’t give us students low grades to make us feel bad, they do it because they know it could be better. So consider it constructive criticism if you will.

                This could benefit the way teachers teach all together, they can take reviews and comments and use them at faculty meetings and could possibly make changes to curriculum. This could change the way teachers discipline and even change schools all together.

                I personally like school, judge me if you please. But I don’t like being in an environment when a teacher is just giving facts and not elaborating on it I can learn any formula or definition, but when and how do I use it? If I could grade a teacher they could change that and that could help out not only myself but my fellow classmates as well.

                 Grading teachers could really benefit the education systems in more ways than people think, so why aren’t we allowed to do it?

2 comments

  1. At university and in law school alike, we were given course evaluations to assess our profs. It took egregious errors on behalf of professors to actually have disciplinary actions raised, but if a prof got bad marks time and time again, students would begin to avoid the prof (since the marks were made available to students for future times) and thus move the university toward finding new roles for such a professor. I think it’s good to have bilateral accountability. It’s part of what makes me enjoy the workplace more than I enjoyed school, which isn’t to say I hated school!

  2. I agree if more teachers were graded by those they teach and the reviews were actually listened to they would think on how they taught and not be complacent. There are in my opinion far to many teachers who should find other fields. If both parents and students could have a voice this may change.
    Especially since children spend more time at school on a regular basis than time at home in their formative years. My sister has been an elem teacher for almost 20 years, I think even she would agree with that. bilateral accountability I’d vote yes on it.
    Great blog as usual Mesa!

Leave a Reply

