The Gift of a Lifetime


You know that quote from Juno “Thanks a heap coyote ugly. This cactus gram stings worse than your abandonment.”? Well I’m trying to relate that quote to this plate.

Today at about 10 AM I was walking around my house and I groggily stumbled into my kitchen to make some coffee, instead I was distracted by the sound of knocking on my door (our doorbell doesn’t work and we live upstairs so sometimes we don’t always hear people). So I venture on downstairs and I’m greeted by our lovely mailman (whose name I do not know because that was the first time I’d ever met him) under his arm was a package, I instantly knew what it was and was filled with excitement, I signed the paper and thanked the mailman before running upstairs and tearing the box open.

You may be thinking: “A package, big deal. What’s with all the excitement?” Well, my dad is in the Army, and he left sometime last week, he said he was sending a package and we’d just been waiting and waiting for it to come.

Inside were two boxes (both labeled to one of my brothers), toy cars scattered around the box (for my other brother), on postcard (for my sister) and two postcards and the plate wrapped in paper, for me.

I started collecting postcards ever since I went to Cleveland with my high school band my Freshman year and thought it would be cool to have post cards of everywhere I went and places I’d like to go. So those were awesome to see, one had the same picture on it that the plate does, and the other one had a picture of the Castle that was used in the Cinderella movie. I was thrilled to see these and made a mental note to add these to my places I’d like to go someday.

Then there’s that plate, it’s interesting, and I like the picture, but what on Earth is it for? It’s about the size of my palm, and glass, obviously, so what do I do with it? Do I just put it somewhere as a souvenir? Can I use it as a Frisbee? Can I shoot it with a gun? I’m just not sure what I do in this situation.

But anyways, it was nice, but now I just don’t know what to do with it. By the way, does anyone have any ideas what I could do with all the post cards I’ve collected so far?

2 comments

  1. I think you can buy little stands to put decorate plates on! Maybe you could save it for when you get your own place and need some decorations (assuming you aren’t living on your own yet)! It’s a nice thought though!

    I’ve never intentionally collected postcards, but I have a friend in Hong Kong who has gone to quite a few places and always sends me postcards from there! I’m not a crafty person but if I think of any cool things to do with them I’ll let you know.

    1. That would be a good, less destructive idea with the plate! 🙂 I will save that for when I am living in my own house.

      I was also thinking of maybe like putting them in a photo album for now until I find something more fun to do with them.

Leave a Reply

