The Help by Kathryn Stockett


I finally finished! This book is probably one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. I laughed, cried, mad, and seriously got a little nervous while reading this amazing novel.

I haven’t read a book like this in a long time, I’ve been really into mystery novels but I’m so glad I decided to read this book, this book really made me think about things I’ve never really had to think about because most of these events happened before my time. Sure enough (like I said in yesterday’s post) There are still rude ignorant people who act like they are better than African-Americans, but I’d say the issues back then were way worse.

Oh and that Hilly Holbrook! If I’d ever met a lady like her I’d probably show her how I really feel about her. I think my favorite person in this book was Minny, don’t get me wrong I love Skeeter and Aibileen it’s just Minny is so strong and even though she acts tough she really means well and is always just looking out for the people she loves.

I looked up The Help on Google and found some very interesting things. This book was rejected 60 times before becoming a Best Seller, and Ablene Cooper (Kathryn Stockett’s brother’s maid)  sued Stockett because Ablene thought that Aibileen was too much like her.

This book is wonderful and I’m very happy I spent the time to read it. If you haven’t read it I highly recommend this book. But if you’re not one of those people who reads then go see the movie, it’s coming out next week Wednesday!

7 comments

    1. What kind of other reviews? And what exactly would you like a copy of?
      If you’d like a copy of The Help you could go to a local book store or borrow it from a friend.
      😉

  1. Minny is probably my favorite character, too — she had me cheering for her from beginning to end. I see a lot of myself in Skeeter and also adored her. Can’t wait to see the movie!

Leave a Reply

