Love Lasts


He’s my best friend, a helping hand, a good listener, a comedian, and the love of my life. His name is Christopher and I met him my Freshman year of high school. I knew he was someone I could get along with, I didn’t know how to approach him because every time I saw him I’d get butterflies in my stomach and my head would fill with all these worries: “What if he thinks I’m weird?” “What if he’s a rude guy?” “What if I say something stupid?”

The first time I ever talked to him didn’t go the way I thought it would go at all. All I’ll tell you is I was crabby and in a bad mood when I walked into our history class (late) and then I accidentally dropped all my stuff on the floor. He helped me pick it up and then I thanked him, sat down and within seconds I touched some gum under my desk. I ended up talking to him about it and we pretty much just hit it off from there.

The point of this post is not to tell you how I met him, even though if I went into detail you guys might think it was a tacky (yet cute) story, but as I said, that’s not the point. The point is he’s an amazing person, not just as my boyfriend or my friend but as a person in general. He’s so caring and fun to be around, he knows what to do when someone is down and he’s always there to give a helping hand. I’m a very lucky girl to have someone as kind and genuine as him. This picture was taken almost two years ago and man has a lot happened in the past two years. Not all of it has been great but I would rather have gone through all of those hardships with him than anyone else. He’s been there for me through a lot in the past couple of years and although I express my emotions much more than he does I’m always there for him whenever I can be.

I’m so lucky to even know someone like this boy. So many people say all the time “You’re too young to know what love is.” or “It’s never going to last.” and things of that nature. I just always wonder why adults think they know that for a fact? I know for a fact that I love this boy with my whole heart. I know that no matter what happens he will always have a very important big place in my heart.

So Chris, if you’re reading this I just want to say this to you:

Thank you for everything you’ve done for me. Thank you for showing me that life does get better. Thank you for loving me. Thank you for being you.

 

Love Always,

Mesa Mendoza

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

