Book Review: The Maze Runner


ImageSo for those of you who frequent my blog know that I don’t usually do reviews, but yesterday in Effective Composition my teacher was telling us our next paper was going to be a review. As my teacher was talking I began thinking about it, why don’t I do more reviews? I do my book review inThe Patriot,I watch good TV shows, listen to interesting music, read good books, eat good food. I could be sharing my happiness with the blogging world, so from here on out, at least once a week I’ll attempt to do some sort of review.

My first review is going to be on The Maze Runner by James Dashner. I was exploring my schools library looking for something nearly as mind blowing as The Hunger Games Trilogy and as I was looking I saw The Maze Runner, it looked interesting and then I read the inside cover:

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his first name. His memory is blank. But he’s not alone. When the lift’s doors open, Thomas finds himself surrounded by kids who welcome him to the Glade—a large, open expanse surrounded by stone walls.

Just like Thomas, the Gladers don’t know why or how they got to the Glade. All they know is that every morning the stone doors to the maze that surrounds them have opened. Every night they’ve closed tight. And every 30 days a new boy has been delivered in the lift.

Thomas was expected. But the next day, a girl is sent up—the first girl to ever arrive in the Glade. And more surprising yet is the message she delivers.

Thomas might be more important than he could ever guess. If only he could unlock the dark secrets buried within his mind.

(Taken from http://www.jamesdashner.com/)

I was more than excited to read this book, it sounded a little confusing but really exciting at the same time.

So I checked out my new read and then was forced to wait until the end of the day to read it, before musical rehearsal started I opened the book and began to devour the pages, soaking up all the awesome things about this book. James Dashner is a phenomenal writer, he makes The Gade seem so real like and the way he makes characters such as Thomas and Minho and all the otherShankscome to life is just outstanding.

I loved that this novel was written in third person, that made the world Thomas, the main character, lived in so much more real. My favorite part of the story was probably The Maze, again Dashner makes it all seem so real and exciting, I was scared and excited, sad and mad throughout this whole book, when it came to an end I saw something on the last page

END OF BOOK ONE

Seeing those words never made me more excited, I’m currently reading The Scorch Trials, but when I’m finished you bet your bottom dollar I’ll be back with a review.

Deranged Rating: 5 out of 5

★★★★★

Leave a Reply

