So Maybe I Lied


Zen Peter Lik

I know I said I would wait until next Monday to update this lovely little blog, but I just couldn’t stay away.

For about a year I’ve been following http://www.kindovermatter.com/ a wonderful blog that belongs to a wonderful woman. Some of her posts have made me laugh, and some I cried. Today I had the pleasure to be a guest blogger on her blog (the latest post is from me). What I wrote about was when I was sick as a sophomore in high school, and when I wrote it it was hard, it’s not something I enjoyed talking about for a long time because it made me feel like I was weak.

Since that horrific event I’ve come out a much stronger person, I don’t have a problem talking about what happened to me. Instead I find it refreshing to show people that something shitty did happen to me, but luckily I’m back on my feet and making the most of my life. I still get scared that I will wake up tomorrow and not be able to feel my legs, but I don’t let it hold me back. I smile and remember that I’m a survivor.

Life throws obstacles at us, if we never had to face hardships, or power through something we wouldn’t be unique. We would all be boring, weak, souls. But you and me are so much more than weak souls. I know that sometimes it’s easier to see the bad in things, (trust me I’ve been through a lot of dark times for only being 18 years old) but if you just try a little harder to see the positive in things it makes life so much easier.

We could all have so much hate in our hearts because it’s easier to hate than to forgive and move on. After three awesome and fun years, I just recently went through my first major break-up (and believe me it was not a pretty break-up). I was pretty sure I hated him, I was mad all the time, and let his hurtful words and actions bring me down. It’s been about a month since we broke up and I forgive him, he may not think he did anything that requires forgiveness but I don’t really care about what he thinks anymore. I felt that it was too much energy to be mad about what happened, we broke up, it happens. I miss him as a friend, but it’s for the best and I’m moving on. I don’t need to hate him, or pretend like he wasn’t a part of my life because he was, but I don’t have to hate him. Maybe we’ll be friends again in the future, but if we’re not I’ll still sleep okay at night. I’m finally living my life and discovering who I am, and I’m discovering that I love who I am, and I don’t need anyone else to love me for me.

Maybe you’re angry at someone, maybe the cashier at Pick N’ Save pissed you off, maybe your kids have been giving you a hard time. Just remember you’re fortunate to have money to afford your groceries, and that you’re kids are healthy enough to give you a hard time now and then (and sometimes it’s okay for you to give them a hard time back.) So I challenge you to look for the positive things in life, instead of picking out all the bad.

Have a super awesome week,

Mesa

 

3 comments

  1. Beautifully said, Mesa! And congratulations on your guest post. Kind Over Matter is very special.
    How have you been since Blogtoberfest? I just wanted to let you know that I’m hosting another (albeit gentler and more introspective) blog challenge over the month of December called #reverb12.
    Would be so rapt if you joined us!
    There’s a little giveaway too. 🙂
    Details here: http://isawyoudancing.blogspot.com.au/p/reverb12.html
    Take care,
    Kat xxx

Leave a Reply

